Throwing a surprise baby shower

I love entertaining and throwing a good party especially when there is a clear theme. Today I threw my very first baby shower. It was a small co-ed affair. Even though it was small, I had forgotten how much planning and work goes into organizing something like this. It’s exhausting but so fulfilling.imageI always look for ideas and inspiration on Pinterest. I love to use the secret board option to keep my party planning a secret from my friends who use Pinterest and are likely the ones who attend my parties. Then begins the grocery and party necessities making list. Two days before the event I will begin preparing any food – usually the desserts. The night before I can boil eggs, prep some veggies, make any dips or sauces, plan and set the buffet table, hang decorations, and if time permits clean the house. The day of – you better stay out of my kitchen, I am on a mission and, thanks to my list making, things run smoothly.

Looking at the pictures it looks so easy and effortless, but anyone who has thrown a party knows it’s not.

I prepared:
tzatziki with radish, carrots, broccoli, red pepper for dipping
marinara sauce for meat balls
deviled eggs
cucumber and carrot cream cheese roll-ups
chocolate walnut dates squares
strawberry buttercream cupcakes

Bought or brought by another guest:
mini quiches
meatballs
shrimp ring
Hungarian sausage
timbits and strawberries (I skewered them)
apple pie squares
blueberry pie

Baby shower cuteness included three paper games (word scramble, word search, fill-in-the-blank nursery rhymes) courtesy of Frugal Fanatic, a blind tasting of 6 types of baby food from jars involving the mom and dad to be vs. novice 14 month parents.

Throwing a surprise baby shower

Leave a comment