Staying motivated…

Since January I have been on a clean eating roll.  I have already eaten healthy and following the clean eating fundamentals, but after spending Christmas in Mexico with my foodie in-laws, I decided I needed to step up my game.

I think I lasted 4 weeks without eating any sugar besides fruit for breakfast and post-workout.  I couldn’t believe it.  It was much easier than I expected.  If I can do it, anyone can do it.  I’ve been maintaining my success and sporadic sugar treats. I have steadily been losing 1 lb a week (except for a few weeks where I fell off the wagon).

On a day to day basis I don’t have any issues with eating well.  It’s the social situations that cause me to cave.  Trying to avoid the bread basket at a restaurant, eating food off my husband’s plate when we’re out (sweet potato fries and slices of pizza!), or avoiding bowls of sweets and chips during game night with our friends = D I S A S T E R.

After said disasters, I usually feel so bad.

Last week was one of those weeks.  I ate my meals every 3 hours, and they were all on point, but the week involved the baby shower I threw at my house, leftover cupcake post-baby shower, my mom’s birthday dinner at a buffet, a friend’s birthday and a work event that involved jujubes and chocolate covered almonds.  It was a jam packed week, and my will power got the best of me.

I can be organized with my meals, get every workout in, but sometimes my mind just works on its on and I stuff myself without thinking.  But after, I come back better and stronger back on track.

To get myself back on track I’ve started taking photos of everything I eat and every night make a collage to keep me motivated.  This works as a reminder for myself to now blow my progress, to see how far I’ve come, and to see that, yes, I am eating alot and having great success.

On Tuesday, for example, I trained my legs in the morning which means more more carbohydrates are included in my meals for the day.  Each meal in the photo below is healthy – yes, even the cupcakes!

leg day meals

I know Twenty doesn’t think about any of this food stuff and works out a little in her apartment to Tracy Anderson dvds.  Sometimes she rolls her eyes at me when I start talking food and workouts, and she’s definitely always the first one to jokingly suggest eating at McDonald’s or buying a cinnabon while at the mall.  However, she’s the taller and skinnier sister.  I had the same mentality in my Twenty’s – I worked out rarely and ate anything.  That’s probably why I gained 20lbs while living in Mexico for two years.  I lost the weight quickly when I started working out doing BodyPump, Step, and Cycling classes and paying closer attention to calories.  It wasn’t until my late twenties before my wedding day that I discovered weight training and clean eating and lost 10 pounds.  I was hooked.

I’m looking forward to where saying no to sugar will take me.

 

Leave a Reply

